CUOrange Blog

Clemson Tiger Sports…and other stuff…

  • Blog Stats

    • 11,268 hits
  • You don’t ever know about a football coach until you get in a ditch. He worked his way out of a ditch pretty good. That’s a good sign. - Danny Ford on Dabo Swinney
  • Recommended: AE’s Tiger Gear

    Adam is a Clemson grad, fellow CUTiger.com member and an all around good guy. Click here to check out all of his stylish Clemson related products.
  • RSS Clemson Basketball

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS Clemson Football

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Mystery Number

    3,496

Money Line

Posted by cuorange on August 29, 2009

cuorange_exclusiveWhile pondering the point spreads for week 1 I realized how difficult picking against the spread is and the variety of factors that can conspire against you in that pursuit. So, I decided to test a theory – yes, I needed ONE more thing to keep track of this season – the theory being that betting on the money line is, well, easy money.

Here’s how it’ll work: I’ll start with an imaginary $10,000 and pick a game (or two) each week and bet the money line. At the end of the season we’ll tally up my winnings (losings). I’ll add a cool little widget somewhere on the page to let you know where I stand and update my record from time to time.

For week 1 I am looking at two possible games: Clemson vs. Middle Tennessee State and Oklahoma vs. Brigham Young, both at -1800. For the neophytes out there, that means I would risk $1800 for every $100 I would win.

I could split it up and take both OU and Clemson, or I could lay all $10,000 on one team in an effort to win $555. Cool. I’ll take OU at -1800 and lay it all out there.

Remember, if OU wins I have $10,555. If they lose my experiment is over after one week.

Leave a Reply

 
